About SCC


Operating Hours

Spring & Fall: Monday – Friday from 7:45 am to 4:15 pm
Summer: Monday – Thursday from 7:30 am to 5:30 pm


Type of College

Public two-year comprehensive community college






Higher Learning Commission



(618) 634-3200

More contact information


Community College District #531

Alexander, Pulaski, Massac, Union, Johnson, and portions of Jackson Counties



Dr. Tim Taylor

Dr. Taylor










Established in 1967, Shawnee Community College offers over 40 associate degrees, diplomas, and certificate programs, including specialties in Health-care, Business, Accounting, Agri-Business, and Information Technology.   Located in Southernmost  Illinois, Shawnee has expanded throughout its history to include four extension sites serving the five counties district and beyond.

Shawnee Community College now serves an annual unduplicated headcount of 3,344 students in both credit and non-credit programs across all locations in the communities of Anna, Cairo, Metropolis, Ullin, and Vienna. Student count includes dual enrollment students in our local high schools. Additionally, Shawnee Community College serves our community in non-credit training opportunities and workforce development classes.