Driver Safety

Some drivers stopped for minor traffic violations may be offered an alternative to appearing in court via the Driver Safety Program provided by Shawnee Community College. The counties of Alexander, Jackson, Johnson, Massac, Pulaski, and Union are participating in this program.

Eligible drivers stopped by the police for certain minor traffic violations – only those for which a court appearance is not mandatory – should be given an application form which explains the Driver Safety class options. Students should pay the ticket fine and the $30 administrative fee, apply to the County Circuit Clerk’s Office in which you received your ticket by email or mail, and participate in the Driver Safety Program. The $30 administrative fee will be used to cover the cost of administering the program and providing traffic safety classes in the local area.

The classes are offered on various Thursdays from 6pm-10pm, and Saturdays 9am-1pm. The number of classes per month are limited. The four-hour class uses materials supplied by the National Safety Council.

Drivers from any area who have received a ticket may be eligible for this class. The driver would need to confirm with the court in the county in which the ticket was received. An administrative fee of $30 is required; a certificate of completion is issued at the end of the class. This certificate may be emailed or mailed to SCC Driver Safety Office. It will then be reported to  the court in which the ticket was received.



Driver Safety Coordinator