Shawnee Community College

Your Success Story Begins Here!
Apply Now Text Only Mobile Site Contact Us
SCC Newsletter SCC Calendar Facebook Twitter Flickr You Tube Athletics

Latest News


Academic Calendar

Calendar of Events


Photos & Albums

Cafeteria Menu

Employment at SCC

Final Exam Schedule

Shawnee Offering Illinois Conceal Carry Courses in March

Shawnee Community College is now offering two courses that can be applied to Illinois Conceal Carry classroom training. The two courses include the Utah Concealed Carry Course and the Hunter Safety Education Course. Both courses can be applied to four hours of classroom training for Illinois Conceal Carry.

Shawnee Community College is hosting the popular Utah Concealed Carry course on March 22, 2014. The class will be at the SCC Main Campus in Ullin, on Saturday, March 22, 2014 from 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM. Course will be held in the Business and Industry Training Center in room J1024 at the SCC Main Campus.

The Utah CFP permit training course takes 4 hours. Firing of a firearm is not required to obtain the Non-Resident Utah concealed firearm permit. The permit is valid for 5 years and training is not required for renewal. Utah concealed firearm permit is recognized by 30 states for Illinois Residents, including Indiana, Kentucky, Missouri, and Tennessee.

Tombstone Gun Range Instructor, David Kemp, will provide the training and all training materials, photos, and fingerprint cards. A fingerprint technician will be present at the class, providing the necessary fingerprinting for an additional $10 fee. Fingerprinting is required to submit your Non-Resident application. The course cost does not include the $51.00 registration fee to the state of Utah. Total class fee is $100. Pre-registration and payment is required by March 17. Class space is limited.

The ten-hour Hunter Safety Education course will be offered at Shawnee College. The course will begin on March 28 at 6 pm on campus in the cafeteria. To complete the course, all attendees must be present for both days and pass the exam. The course will be March 28 from 6:00 PM to 9:30 PM and March 29 from 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM. An adult must accompany all youth under the age of 13.

You can register for the course by calling the college at 618-634-3200. Pre-registration is required due to limited seating and the course is free to those who participate.

For more information about the Illinois Conceal Carry Courses at Shawnee Community College, please contact Gabriele Farner, Training Coordinator of the SBDC Office at 618-634-3254 or

mySCC     Athletics         Saints Alert E-Tutoring     Veterans Benefits    
Shawnee Community College • 8364 Shawnee College Road • Ullin, IL 62992 • (618) 634-3200
Report FraudContact Us