Shawnee Community College

Your Success Story Begins Here!
Apply Now Text Only Mobile Site Contact Us
SCC Newsletter SCC Calendar Facebook Twitter Flickr You Tube Athletics

Latest News


Academic Calendar

Calendar of Events


Photos & Albums

Cafeteria Menu

Employment at SCC

Final Exam Schedule

Cathy Belcher New Board Chairperson

Belcher Named Board Chairperson at Shawnee

At the regular meeting of the Shawnee Community College Board of Trustees in May, Cathy Belcher of Anna was appointed Chairperson of the Board and will serve in that capacity for the next two years. Belcher joined the board in April 2005 and has served in many capacities including: Illinois Community College Trustee Association Alternate Delegate, Assistant Secretary, Secretary, and Vice Chairperson.

Don E. Patton was honored at the board meeting in recognition of his time and dedication to Shawnee Community College. Patton served as Shawnee Community College Board Chairperson for the past two years and will continue as a member of the board and as the board's representative in the Illinois Community College Trustees Association. Patton has served on the board since 1989.

Outgoing board member Scott Farmer received a plaque celebrating his dedication and years of service to the district and for his commitment to the college. "It has been an honor and privilege to serve the students, faculty, and staff at Shawnee." Farmer added, "SCC served me very well as a student and the College continues to positively impact students and our district." Farmer is a 1984 Shawnee graduate. The Board approved resolutions of appreciation for both Scott Farmer and Wesley Wright. Wright left the board earlier this year.

Scott Farmer dedication of Service

The Board of Trustees also welcomed its newest members, Steve Heisner and Student Trustee Jose Botello. Heisner served on the SCC Board of Trustees from 1991 until August of 2004 and was once again elected to the board in April. Heisner resides in Karnak in Pulaski County. Botello is enrolled in the nursing program at Shawnee and is active in the Student Senate. Botello resides in Vienna.

The SCC Board now consists of Cathy Belcher, chairperson; Dr. Manul Goins, vice-chairperson; Richard Trampe, secretary; Chris Boyd, assistant secretary and ICCTA alternative delegate; Don Patton, ICCTA delegate; Maxine Russell, and Steve Heisner.

The Shawnee Community College board regular monthly meetings are on the first Monday of each month. In the event of an official college Monday holiday, meetings are on the first Tuesday of the month.

Shawnee Community College serves residents in Alexander, Pulaski, Union, Massac, and parts of Johnson and Jackson counties in southernmost Illinois, offering a wide range of degree, certificate, and continuing education programs designed to help students enter the workforce or transfer to a four-year university.

mySCC     Athletics         Saints Alert E-Tutoring     Veterans Benefits    
Shawnee Community College • 8364 Shawnee College Road • Ullin, IL 62992 • (618) 634-3200
Report FraudContact Us